A Weekend of Wonder: Celtic Shamanism

The weekend of April 28-29, I took an excursion into Celtic shamanism with Tom Cowan, sponsored by Animal Spirit Network, that was literally life-changing.  Being new to shamanism (even having done the reading and taken an online intro to shamanic journeying), I was a little unsure of what I’d experience.  I discovered that the synergy of Celtic lore and Native American shamanic practices, shared with other seekers, was wondrous, joyous, and almost overwhelming in its power!

Tom did a marvelous job of leading us through a truly sacred series of discussions, journeys, dances and ceremonies to bring Celtic shamanism to life in our minds, spirits, and bodies.  His depth of knowledge and love of story and poetry (each direction had its own story and poem, every one an exquisite gem of word art), along with his deep shamanic wisdom and engaging teaching style, created the perfect atmosphere for us to find our way into the heart of Celtic spirituality.

AHA moments:

  • The Irish “spirit wheel” is much like the Native American medicine wheel–4 directions plus center, serving as a spiritual pathway and practice.
  • My “home” direction was South, the place of music, poetry, dance, storytelling, and all kinds of ART.
  • Sovereignty (Center) is about self-rule, standing in your own power AND understanding how to yield it when that is best.  It’s like a Celtic version of Kwanzaa’s Kujichagulia.  Spirit Truth is Truth in every language!
  • There are people–LOCAL ones–who appreciate and UNDERSTAND my recent mystical experiences.

WOW experiences:

  • Helping a fellow student make a deeply personal breakthrough to honor her own shamanic gifts and experiences.
  • Receiving a spiritual healing  (a thawing out from old “frozen” ways and beliefs) from fiery Brigid in the East.   (Before the journey, Tom casually mentioned that this healing could take the form of dismemberment–a real deer-in-the-headlights moment for a novice journeyer….)
  • Journeying into the West with the Cailleach (as Crane) to watch the river of my life flow in peace, beauty, love and abundance to the eternal sea, and hear words from her of such deep compassion and comfort that I was brought to tears.
  • Dancing the spirits of Boann, Salmon and Sycamore in ceremonies.  This started one life change for me; I’m dancing  almost daily now as a way to meditate and manifest Spirit into Earth reality!

Personal breakthrough:

  • Shamanism is a powerful, beautiful spiritual path that I am meant to claim and practice for healing myself and others.

I had a lot of fears about shamanism–it seemed so alien, so primitive, almost violent with its tools of animal bone and hide, and its focus on earth deities who routinely dismember, disembowel, or otherwise destroy the seeker in order to rebuild him/her purified.  But I was given a very personal gift of tender, overwhelming LOVE in my rebuilding, from spirits who are now like family to me.  And I emerged renewed and filled with wonder that still echoes in my heart.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About theunboxedoracle

See my "About" page for that :-)

2 responses to “A Weekend of Wonder: Celtic Shamanism”

  1. Monster Beats says :

    锘縁inding this website made everything I did. The reason being that this is such an informative article. I wanted saying thanks to you just for this informative examine of the subject. I certainly savored every little bit of it i submitted your site to some of the most popular social networks thus others will find your blog.

  2. Louis Vuitton Outlet says :

    Excellent blog! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and also the data are well written. I’m wondering the way i might be alerted when a brand-new post has been made. I’ve decided upon your Rss which need to do the trick! Use a great day!

Leave a Reply

