The Prayer of Undoing: A Gift for the New Year

At the end of a year, I find myself looking back in order to move forward.  I review actions, relationships and unresolved issues from the past, with the intent of honoring what went well and learning from what did not.  Where I still feel pain or regret, I look for ways to heal and bless myself and the others involved, so that the highest good may result and we can all be free to keep growing.

This year I learned of a simple yet tremendously powerful prayer that releases guilt and shame over painful past events and brings clearing energy to EVERYONE affected by them.  I have felt the results myself, and so have others I’ve told about it.  Now I’d like to offer it to you as a year-end gift  to help you make a loving, empowered start to 2012.

I found the Prayer of Undoing in the writing of Doreen Virtue*.  She was working through deep feelings of sadness and guilt over her divorce and the custody issues with her children.  She received internal instruction that she could “perform an undoing,” and then was given this affirmation to pray as she focused on the topic of her divorce and custody battles:

“Some mistakes have been made in this situation.  I ask that the effects of all mistakes be undone in all directions of time.”

Doreen reported that as she repeated this affirmation several times, focusing on her topic, she felt waves of shudders in her physical body–stored negative emotions being released from her very cells.  When the shuddering ceased, she stopped saying the affirmation.  A greater sense of peace and well-being remained with her afterwards.

Later in the book I learned that this prayer is useful whenever I become aware that I’ve made a mistake by acting or speaking from unloving or fearful thoughts.  I like to make the prayer more personal by saying:

“I admit that I made mistakes in this situation, and I ask that the effects of all mistakes be undone in all directions of time for everyone concerned.”

This helps me both acknowledge and release responsibility for my part of the situation.

I find that this prayer acts like Reiki energy–it flows through time and space to heal the situation and all people involved.  I advise praying it privately, as it definitely does activate shudders, twitches, and other movements that indicate the body is releasing old, wedged negativity.  If you find that the release is overwhelming, ask the Divine to ease it for you.  You should FEEL the release, but not SUFFER from it!

If this benefits you, I would be blessed by your comments to this post.  And please share the post and the prayer with others!  It’s ALWAYS a good time to get free from the past and move joyously into the future!

* Healing with the Fairies, Hay House, 2001.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About theunboxedoracle

See my "About" page for that :-)

Leave a Reply

