Thoughts of Thanksgiving

 

For me, Thanksgiving is more than a calendar day, though it is great to set aside a day specifically for giving thanks.  And it is more than a season, though it is certainly appropriate to show gratitude at harvest time for Mother Earth’s loving gifts of food and natural beauty–that riot of color and celebration before the solemn stillness of winter.

For me, Thanksgiving is a spiritual state, a mindset of gratitude that is renewed EVERY day because every day I receive so many gifts of grace:  a kind word from someone who read this blog and took time to comment, a spontaneous hug from my daughter, a loving look from an animal friend, an encouraging message from my spirit guides, a breathtaking view of a tree silhouetted against the evening sky.

The Divine showers us daily with such simple gifts, and in return asks only for our attention and appreciation.  I remember my most childlike response of gratitude, about a year or two ago.  (I randomly toggle between being 5, 15, and 50; lately, 5 seems to be “on” more of the time…) 🙂  I walked out of a church building to the sight of a particularly spectacular sunset.  Pink-, coral-, and purple-tinged clouds sailed above me, backlit by the splendor of the sun sliding down to the horizon.  A shaft of light shot through a separate, haloed cloud, a single glorious ray that fanned out to surround a distant field in a white-gold blaze.  I spontaneously lifted my hands in awe and silent praise.  Then a light-shaft of thought blazed through my mind, “You’re a Leo, you love applause for your art–God would love some, too!” And even though I was enough older than 5 to feel a little foolish, I stood out there on the sidewalk and gave the Creator the sound of two hands clapping, through a trickle of tears and a great big grin.  I’ve never felt closer to the Divine than in that moment, especially when an inner voice whispered, “I’m glad you noticed.”

It’s likely that you’ll see this post after the calendar day for Thanksgiving is past.  But if you decide to make Thanksgiving your mindset, any day you see this will be the right day to respond with attention, appreciation, and maybe applause for the gifts you are receiving from invisible hands of grace.  I’ll be right there with you.

      P.S.  If you ever need a little reminder about a child’s-eye view of gratitude, just watch the VeggieTales video Madame Blueberry.  It’s my personal favorite for clearing the mind of “stuffism,” and filling the spirit with thankfulness and good wholesome laughter!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About theunboxedoracle

See my "About" page for that :-)

2 responses to “Thoughts of Thanksgiving”

  1. Tammy Letherer says :

    Susan,
    What a blessed way to start my Thanksgiving day! This is just beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing and inspiring…..Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

